Name: The Faroe Islands (Føroyar)

Location: In the middle of the Gulf Stream in the North Atlantic at 62º00’N and 06º47’W, halfway between Scotland and Iceland

Neighbouring countries: Closest land is North Rona, part of Scotland’s Outer Hebrides, 257km (139 nautical miles) to the south

Total land area: 1,399km2 (540 square miles)

Total marine area: 247,000km2 (105,792 square miles)

Area: Faroese archipelago, 113km (70 miles) long and 75km (47 miles) wide. Total coastline of 1,100km (687 miles). No point in the Faroe Islands is further than 5km (3 miles) from the sea.

Islands: 18 volcanic islands separated by narrow sounds and fjords arranged roughly in the form of an arrowhead. All but one are inhabited.

Heights: Highest peak 880m (2,887ft); average height above sea level 300m (980ft)

Climate: Average 3º-11ºC, winter-summer

Population: 52,656 (as of July ’20)

Capital: Tórshavn (population 22,216 as of July ’20)

Status: Self-governing region within Kingdom of Denmark

Language: Faroese. Danish has equal status in all official affairs

Religion: Evangelical Lutheran

Government: Parliamentary democracy

Prime Minister: Bárður á Steig Nielsen (Union Party, Sambandsflokkurin)

Anthem: Tú alfagra land mítt

Main industries: Fishing and aquaculture, shipping and offshore services, tourism and prospects for petroleum in Faroese area

Currency: Faroese króna (DKK)

Exchange rate: £1 = 8.27kr, US$1 = 6.31kr, €1 = 7.45kr (August 2020)

International telephone code: +298

Internet TLD: .fo

Time: GMT (winter); GMT+1 (summer)

Electrical voltage: 220V; European two-pin plugs

Weights and measures: Metric

Flag: Red cross fringed with blue on white background

Public holidays: New Year’s Day 1 January, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter Sunday, Easter Monday, Flag Day 25 April, Common Prayers’ Day (May), Ascension Day, Whit Sunday, Whit Monday, Ólavsøka 28-29 July, Christmas 24-26 December, New Year’s Eve 31 December